Frequently Asked Questions - Students/Family
Student/Family - Frequently Asked Questions
I am not feeling well and am exhibiting symptoms of COVID-19, what do I do?
If you are sick, stay home. Consult a medical professional as needed. If you choose to get tested, here are some testing options:
Barton County Health Department, call ahead for an appointment.
15-minute rapid test & PCR test available
Univ. of KS Hospital, St. Rose Convenient Clinic
Heart of Kansas Healthcare - patients only
Clara Barton Hospital
Can my student receive a vaccine for COVID-19?
Covid-19 Vaccinations are now fully approved and widely available for anyone 5 years old and above. The Covid-19 vaccine is an option for parents and families but is not required by USD 428. Please contact your child's primary care physician or the Barton County Health Department with any questions.
Boosters should also be considered for those who are 18 and older and received a vaccination 5+ months ago.
Barton County Health Department: 1300 Kansas Ave, Great Bend, KS · (620) 793-1902
Should I get tested for COVID-19?
My student (or someone in our household) tested positive for COVID-19, what do I do next?
After testing positive, the individual will need to isolate for 10 days or until 24 hours symptom-free, whichever is greater.
Family members who are exhibiting NO SYMPTOMS can attend school.
Our family (student, parent, sibling, etc) is waiting for test results. What do we need to do?
If you, your student, or someone in your household is exhibiting symptoms of COVID-19 and have been tested, all members of your household who have symptoms should stay home until the results are received.
If results are positive - the positive individual will need to isolate for 10 days or until 24 hours symptom-free, whichever is greater.
If results are negative - you and your family members can return to work/school as long as they are symptom free
How do I know if I am a “close contact?”
You are a "close contact" if any of the following situations happened while you spent time with a person with has COVID-19 (and 48 hours prior to their symptoms developing):
Were within 3 feet of the person for 10 cumulative minutes or more within a 24 hour period
Had contact with the person's respiratory secretions (for example, coughed or sneezed on; kissed; contact with a dirty tissue; shared a drinking glass, food, towels, or other personal items)
Live with the person or stayed overnight for at least one night in a house with the person
Beginning Tuesday, Jan. 18, our district will no longer notify families whose child may have been in contact, through classroom or extracurricular settings, with an individual who has tested positive for COVID-19.
Does wearing a mask prevent quarantine from classroom exposure or "close contact" at school?
While wearing a mask is shown to reduce the risk and slow the spread of Covid-19, a mask does not prevent a student/teacher from being quarantined if they fall within the following description of "close contact."
Student/staff member was within 3 feet of the positive person for 10 cumulative minutes or more
Student/staff member had contact with the person's respiratory secretions (for example, coughed or sneezed on; kissed; contact with a dirty tissue; shared a drinking glass, food, towels, or other personal items)
Contact tracing is conducted by the school nurse and building administration using seating charts and other investigative tools, all while protecting the individuals' privacy.
How long will I be quarantined after being a “close contact”?
Below are guidelines for various quarantine scenarios. Please consult the Barton County Health Department, your school nurse, or principal with questions specific to your scenario.
Close Contact - If you believe your child has been exposed to a positive case either at school, home, or elsewhere, families can choose to keep their child home to monitor symptoms for up to 10 days. Absences related to COVID-19 are still considered excused absences but the situation must be communicated with the child’s school.